48th Annual MARTS Technical Conference Minneapolis 2011

Monday September 19, 2011

9:00 AM- 10:15 AM: Protective Coating Committee Presentations

Sponsor, Al Glueckert, President, Glueckert Engineering Services Company

Surface Preparation- Traditional and Future

Speaker: E. J. Johnson, Senior Market Manager, The Carboline Company

Presentation Not Available

Update on Waterborne Coating Technology

Speaker: Wayne Kurcz, Executive Vice President, Williams Hayward Protective Coatings, Inc.

                                                                               Presentation Not Available

10:30 AM–11:45 AM: Comprehensive Equipment Performance Monitoring

Sponsor, Jerry Bohacik, Director and North American Rail Operations & Network Services, GATX Corporation

Speakers: Ron Tsolis, CEPM Program Manager, Railinc; Jerry Bohacik, Director North American Rail Operations & Network Services, GATX Corp; Nichole Fimple, Product Manager, Asset Health, Railinc

Presentation by Speakers

1:30 PM – 3:00 PM: AAR Research and Technical Standards

Sponsor, David Cackovic, Chief- Technical Standards and Inspection, TTCI

Overview of AAR Research Program 

Speaker: H.M. Tournay, Senior Scientist, TTCI

Improved truck suspensions and M-976 Specifications (Not Available)

Speaker: H.M. Tournay, Senior Scientist, TTCI

Update on AAR Technical Standards and Inspections Activities (Not Available)

Speakers: David L. Cackovic, Chief, Technical Standards, TTCI; Armand E. Ciccarelli, Director Mechanical Inspection, AAR

Presentations Not Available

3:15 PM – 4:00 PM: Research & Development Efforts for Tank and Other Cars

Sponsor, John Kieras, Director Railroad & Industry Relations, Union Tank Car Co.

Speaker: Bob Toms – Director of Research & Development for Union Tank Car Company

Presentation By Mr. Toms

 4:00 PM – 5:00 PM: Technology Driven Train Inspection

 Sponsor, Tom Stahura, Executive Director, Rules & Standards, AAR

Speaker: Jim Robeda, Senior Engineer, TTCI

Presentation Not Available

Tuesday September 20, 2011

8:00 AM – 10:00 AM: On Board & Wayside Condition and Performance Monitoring.

A cross-section of railroads, car owners, and shipper/owner  representatives will highlight some of the latest Industry and independent initiatives in condition and performance monitoring of critical freight car components and systems.

Sponsor, Patrick T. Ameen, Vice President Industry Relations, Amsted Rail Company, Inc.

Moderator: Patrick T. Ameen, Vice President Industry Relations, Amsted Rail Company, Inc.

Presenter: R.B. Wiley, Principal Investigator Assistant, Transportation Technology Center, Inc.

Presentation by Mr. Wiley

Speaker: Peter L. Jones, Vice President Operations, Mitsui Rail Capital, LLC

Presentation by Mr. Jones

Speaker: Donald B. Loftis, Principal Software Engineer, Olin Corporation

Presentation by Mr. Loftis

10:30 AM – 12:00 PM:  AAR Interchange Rules Panel

Sponsor, Tom Stahura, Executive Director, Rules & Standards, AAR

Panel: Tom Stahura, Executive Director, Rules & Standards, AAR; Tom Jellison, Chairman of AAR Arbitration Committee; Michael Reid, Member of AAR Arbitration Committee & Manager Cars System Mechanical, BNSF Railway Company; Steve Phebus, Member of AAR Arbitration Committee & Assistant Chief Mechanical Officer – Car, CSX Corporation; Steve Beckwith, Member of AAR Arbitration Committee & Senior Director Freight Car Planning & Operations, UP Railroad; John Kieras, Member of AAR Arbitration Committee and Director Railroad & Industry Relations, Union Tank Car Co; Harold Winters, Member of AAR Car Repair Billing Committee and General Mechanical Inspector – Compliance, CSX Corporation; Len Choyce, Member of the AAR Car Repair Billing Committee & Senior Manager Auditing, TTX Company

  Rule 99 Presentation

Standards Presentation